Gabriel Preisser, Executive & Artistic Director

gpreisser@operaorlando.org

As Executive & Artistic Director of Opera Orlando, Gabriel Preisser uses his performance experience of over 50 operatic and music theater roles to serve the company in areas of growth and development, artistic vision and planning, and administration.  Born and raised in Apopka, just outside of Orlando, Mr. Preisser has deep ties to the Central Florida area.  He graduated summa cum laude from Florida State University with a major in vocal performance and a minor in business and completed a master’s degree in voice at the University of Houston.

Critically acclaimed by The New York Times and Opera News, Mr. Preisser has performed leading-man roles for various companies throughout the U.S., including the Minnesota Orchestra, Colorado Symphony, Opera Tampa, among others.  Most notably, he created the role of Lt. Gordon in Kevin Puts’s Pulitzer Prize-winning "Silent Night" at Minnesota Opera, with subsequent performances at Opera Philadelphia and Cincinnati Opera and on national PBS broadcasts. 

On the concert stage he has garnered a reputation for his dynamic interpretations of Orff’s "Carmina Burana" and Walton’s "Belshazzar’s Feast" with the Canterbury Chorale, Atlanta Ballet, Orlando Ballet, and Jacksonville Symphony.  In addition, he is a frequent recitalist throughout the U.S. and a proponent of American composers such as Charles Ives, Carlisle Floyd, Aaron Copland, and John Duke.

Outside of his performing career, Mr. Preisser co-founded Angels & Demons Entertainment, an opera/music theater production company focusing on semi-staged and site-specific opera and music theater presentations. He currently lives in Winter Garden with his wife, son, and daughter.

 

Robin Jensen, Music & Education Director

rjensen@operaorlando.org

Robin Jensen holds a master's degree in piano performance from Drake University, with additional opera and piano collaboration studies at the San Francisco Conservatory of Music. She is the UCF opera program artistic director and coaches in the Rollins College Opera Workshop program. Robin has been music director for MadCow Theater since 2004 and is in her 10th season as artistic director for Camp Madhatter, a summer intensive music theater camp in Minnesota. Robin also served as the first director of education and music administration with the former Orlando Opera Company, serving as the company’s assistant conductor. She was also the founder of the Children’s Opera Company programs from 1989 to 1997.

More information on our Youth Company staff HERE

 

MEET THE TEAM

Gabriel Preisser, Executive & Artistic Director
gpreisser@operaorlando.org

Beatriz Ramirez, Executive Assistant/Office Manager
office@operaorlando.org

Robin Jensen, Music & Education Director
rjensen@operaorlando.org

Sarah Purser, Assistant Education Director
spurser@operaorlando.org

Grant Preisser, Creative Director
grant.preisser@operaorlando.org

Dani Janesick, Production Assistant
djanesick@operaorlando.org

Courtney Ruckman, Digital Marketing Manager
cruckman@operaorlando.org

Lydia Jorge, Marketing and Events Coordinator
lsjorge@operaorlando.org

Susan Speicher, Editor-at-Large
speicher@operaorlando.org

Wendy Demandante, Editorial Assistant
wdemandante@operaorlando.org

Brion Price, Staff Photographer

David Brancato, Production Videographer

 

YOUTH COMPANY

 Robin Jensen, Director
rjensen@operaorlando.org

Sarah Purser, Assistant Education Director
spurser@operaorlando.org

Amado Bobadilla, Vocal Improvisation/Composer
amadobobadilla@gmail.com

Timothy Williams, Acting Coach
Timothyw73@gmail.com